An Introduction to Melody

Hello, internet-dwellers.

My name is Melody. For the past three years of my life, my health and fitness have been the primary focus of every single day. In that time, I’ve dropped 75 lbs, ran 7 5K distances, learned a lot about myself, learned a lot about food, and just basically have learned a lot about life in general. Allow me to show you who I am.

Image

Yep, that was me. A whopping 253 lbs of me, the Christmas Break before my last semester as a sophomore in college. I had been overweight my entire life and had always had unhealthy eating habits. As if that weren’t enough, I also had body image issues, emotional issues, and trauma that comes with living life that harbored itself inside of me and caused me to use food as a bandage for my problems. I binged. A LOT. I could eat entire bags of Hershey Kisses without blinking and then go grab a pint of B&J and a Dr. Pepper. I had a hole in me that I wanted to fill with food. I disgusted myself.

At this time, I had an abundance of health problems. During the break, I actually became faint while stumbling to the kitchen for a glass of water and fell. The same week, my pediatrician (I was only 19 years old at the time) informed me that unless I made some serious changes, I was going to be a diabetic. I was eating myself to death at 19. I had high cholesterol, high triglycerides, and I was living a lifestyle that my body could not endure. After this, I began to think about adopting a healthier lifestyle, but I lost about 15 lbs and quit. A bit later, I overheard what I thought was a comment about my size as I went to take my laundry out of the dryer in the ground floor of my dormitory apartments; I decided from that point on that no one, not myself or any other person, would have a reason to comment on my unhealthy appearance or habits.

From there, I changed my life one drink, bite, and step at a time. I downloaded a magnificent app onto my phone, MyFitnessPal, which allowed me to track my eating habits and exercise every day. As I logged, I learned how to make subtle changes in my diet so that I could eat more while keeping my calorie count down. The very first week, I lost 4 lbs. WOW, was I excited?! Without any exercise and only a cut in my calorie intake, I managed to drop it, just like that. I began to see that if I lost 2 lbs each week, I could easily lose a jean size in 8 weeks! I was hooked from that moment on, and I have stuck with it since then.

I am human, and I definitely get off track at times. Yeah, I go out and have dinner at Applebee’s that has my whole day’s worth of calories in just one plate. I eat cookies. I like cake, and I’m not telling it to go anywhere but in my belly. I did this realistically, and that is what matters. If it’s not realistic, then it will not be sustainable.

I am working on losing my last 25 lbs, training for a half marathon, and becoming the girl I see inside myself one day, one workout, and one meal at a time. I have bad days, I wear my fat goggles, and I eat bad things. I skip workouts. I forget to love myself as I am. The focus of this blog is to take those nasty thoughts and turn them into something positive, something from which I can learn. This blog is for no one but me; however, I’ll be completely thrilled if anyone wants to tag along as I work on bettering myself. I hope someone, anyone can gain inspiration and focus from my posts.

Cheers. =]

14 thoughts on “An Introduction to Melody

    1. Awh, thank you so much. That is very sweet. I’m really focusing on fat loss and overall endurance/strength, but I know it will all work itself out when I work hard and train/eat right.

  1. Always my inspiration. You can do anything, Melody, anything at all. It’s a lot of work, but you’re going to own it, and drop those pounds, and look/feel as beautiful as you are, always. I can’t wait to see the proud, confident, comfortable you! Just know that throughout your journey, I’ve got your six.

    Keep it up, love.

    ~ J

    1. I love your story, probably because it’s very similar to mine! I started making efforts to lose weight during sophomore year of college and over a few years was able to lose 70 pounds through diet and exercise. I’ve gained a bit back because of underlying issues and emotional eating that I hadn’t dealt with, and am now in therapy to work out those issues and lose some of the weight I’ve gained back. I also just started training for a half marathon after doing a whole mess of 5Ks and even a 10K. Looking forward to following you!!

Leave a Reply

